Lubbock Christian University

LCU Chapter of History National Honor Society Completes Inaugural Year

At the conclusion of the 2020-2021 academic year, the Lubbock Christian University (LCU) chapter of the Phi Alpha Theta National History Honor Society graduated its first cohort of students.

Dr. Gary Lindsey, Associate Professor of History, came to LCU in 2019 after a ten-year period as a history and political science faculty member at LCU’s sister school Oklahoma Christian University (OC), which had an active Phi Alpha Theta chapter.

“Based on my involvement with that chapter and recognizing the academic and professional value for academically qualified LCU students, I wanted to create such a chapter at LCU,” he explained. “I approached Drs. Foy Mills (Provost), Susan Blassingame (Dean), and Ronna Privett (Humanities Department Chair) with the proposal that we apply for a Phi Alpha Theta chapter for LCU. They all gave their enthusiastic support.”

With their support, Dr. Lindsey began the process to apply for an LCU Phi Alpha Theta chapter.

“I attended, presented a paper, and moderated sessions at the Phi Alpha Theta Biennial Convention in San Antonio, Texas, on January 2-5, 2020,” he explained. “At that event, I talked with Dr. Jacob Blosser, president of Phi Alpha Theta, regarding the process to apply for a chapter. He also enthusiastically encouraged LCU to do so.”

Dr. Lindsey proceeded to submit the required application materials to the Phi Alpha Theta office the following March, andMarch and was notified of LCU’s acceptance and the establishment of the institution’s new Phi Alpha Theta in the early summer.

“On the evening of November 19, 2020, an Installation/Induction Ceremony was held in the Cardwell Lecture Hall of the American Heritage Building,” Dr. Lindsey continued. “Phi Alpha Theta national president, Dr. Jacob Blosser presided (virtually) as he installed the new chapter and inducted the chapter's eight charter student members.”

The inaugural members—Berklee Clark, Lauren Flatt, Matthew Lynch, Olivia Magee, Camryn Spurlin, Kassi Walters, Briley Wells, and Bryce Worley—were recognized alongside Dr. Lindsey, who serves as the faculty advisor for the chapter, and their four charter faculty members: Dr. Sam Ayers, Dr. Kregg Fehr, Dr. Gary Lindsey, and Dr. Keith Owen.

The outgoing and graduating chapter officers among those first student members were chapter President, Olivia Magee; Vice President Berklee Clark; Secretary and Treasurer Matthew Lynch; and Historian Camryn Spurlin. The incoming chapter officers are President Briley Wells; Vice President Lauren Flatt; Secretary and Treasurer Kassi Walters; and Historian Bryce L. Worley.

Learn more about LCU's history program.