Lubbock Christian University
The Prosperity Bank DSS co hosted by Lubbock Christian University and Covenant School of Nursing

Content Hours Request

Fill out this form to request your content hours 

Resiliency 2.0: Reclaiming Agency in Your Life: The Era of COVID

Nurses, students, and faculty have been on the front lines of the pandemic and many have experienced grief, overwhelm, change fatigue and confusion over the past year.  A nurse practitioner well-being expert will present a resiliency program with ideas on how to approach these uncertain and chaotic times, how to practice self-leadership, mental agility and extreme self-care, no matter your circumstances.   Join us for this lively, supportive discussion to explore strategies to pursue your own wellbeing in this unprecedented time.

Eileen T. O’Grady Ph.D., RN, NP

Dr. Eileen O’Grady is a certified Nurse Practitioner and Wellness Coach.  She is Founder of The School of Wellness, dedicated to infusing the evidence on wellbeing into people and organizations to promote high-level wellness.  O’Grady is an expert on intentional change, emphasizing the importance of extreme self-care and how to identify and remedy a life that is off kilter.    She is an author and editor of two textbooks, Advanced Practice Nursing: An Integrative Approach and Intentional Therapeutic Relationships: Advancing Caring in Health Care a how-to book on placing relationships at the center of health care.  Her most recent book, Choosing Wellness: Unconventional Wisdom for the Overwhelmed, the Discouraged, the Addicted, the Fearful or the Stuck, is her most personal.    O’Grady lives in the Washington DC area.

About the Session


  1. Validate current practice realities and specific workplace stressors.
  2. Explore tools that more effectively meet complexity and align with human well-being.
  3. Review the science of habit formation and the importance of bedrock behaviors.


  1. Validation
    • Complexity, chaos
    • National Academy of Medicine Report on Clinician Wellbeing
  2. Resiliency
    • Definition
    • Needs nurturing, noticing and care
    • Self-compassion
    • Positive Psychology
  3. Tools
    • Attention
      • Mindfulness
      • Somatic Awareness
    • Agility
      • Growth Mindset
      • Experimental approach
    • Claiming Agency
      • Science of Habit Formation
      • Building Bedrock Behaviors
      • Keeping Promises to ourselves



Clear, J.  (2018). Atomic Habits: An Easy & Proven Way to Build Good Habits and Break Bad Ones.  Penguin Random House.  

Garvey-Berger, Jennifer (2019). Unlocking Leadership Mindtraps:  How to Thrive in Complexity. Stanford University Press.

Jimenez, JM ( 2021). The Burnout Fix: Overcome Overwhelm, Beat Busy, and Sustain success in the New World of Work.  McGraw Hill. 

Seligman, Martin. (2011). Flourish: A Visionary New Understanding of Happiness and Well-being. Free Press

Trzeciak, S. & Mazzarelli, A. (2019). Compassionomics: The Revolutionary Scientific Evidence that Caring  Makes a Difference. Struder Group LLC.