Secondary Menu


1983 Baseball Champions Reunite

For their 30-year reunion, the 1983 baseball champions were inducted into the LCU Hall of Honor, the first year for an entire team to be inducted. The 1983 team received this honor for claiming LCU’s first national title in the NAIA National Championship with a 12-9 win over Lewis-Clark State on June 6, 1983. Head coach, Larry Hays, along with all but five team members, were able to attend the induction festivities this weekend, which included a banquet and a softball tournament.

Browse through a number of photos from the weekend in the gallery below. Lubbock’s newspaper, The Avalanche Journal, interviewed several 1983 team members on their time playing as a Chap. Their stories can be found here.

1983 Team Inductees


Joe Benavidez

Phil Bryant

David Bulls

Steve Coleman

Rene Cordova (could not attend)

Rodney Curtis

Rick Dillman (could not attend)

Kent Dudley

Kirk Dudley

Bob Fannin

Chet Feldman (could not attend)

Bob Hinson

Gary Hix

Ed Jeffery (could not attend)

Randy Ledbetter

Hector Limon

Jimmy Morris

Dan O'Conner (could not attend)

Brett Parker

Mike Rivera

Randy Velarde

Travis Walden

Rich Wieligman


Larry Hays

Bob Nottebart

John Copeland

Charlie Viney


John Steves


Ron Dover

John Hays

Rip Griffin


LD Hays (supporter)

Walt McAlexander (sports information dir.)

Oscar Acosta (coach)

Frank Hord (supporter)

Tim Marshall (trainer)