Secondary Menu


LCU Recognizes Distinguished Local Educators with Awards Ceremony and Reception

On Tuesday, March 22, LCU recognized six Distinguished Educators of Lubbock County and awarded two educators the Lubbock Christian Award for Excellence in Teaching. For the 2015-2016 academic year, Ollie Hart and Donna Hillstrom were awarded the honor for excellence in teaching.

Each superintendent from Lubbock County districts was invited to nominate one outstanding teacher to represent their district. The 2015-2016 Distinguished Educators of Lubbock County and award nominees were

  • Ollie Hart* of Abernathy ISD,
  • Sandra Jimenez of Frenship ISD,
  • Rhonda Tue of Lubbock ISD,
  • Donna Hillstrom* of Lubbock-Cooper ISD,
  • Krystal Moyers of Shallowater ISD, and
  • Keith Creager of Slaton ISD.

Each nominee received an engraved brass teacher hand bell and $100. From the six nominees, a selection committee reviewed the nominations and chose Ollie Hart and Donna Hillstrom to receive the Lubbock Christian Award for Excellence in Teaching, along with $1,000.

The reception was held in the Baker Conference Center as a collaboration between the LCU School of Education, The CH Foundation, and The Knowledge Center, Inc. Walter Burl Huffman gave the reception address. He is Dean Emeritus and Professor of Law, Texas Tech University School of Law and Major General, U.S. Army, Retired.

The Lubbock Christian University Award for Excellence in Teaching was first introduced in 2014 as a means to recognize and honor truly outstanding public school teachers from local school districts. The award is presented annually to outstanding educators as recognition for their diligent efforts in educating the generations of tomorrow and encouragement that their hard work does not go unnoticed.