Secondary Menu


Bender and Martin pictured teaching in their respective classrooms

Two Lubbock County Educators Honored for Excellence in Teaching, Eight Nominated

On Tuesday, April 3, the Lubbock Christian University School of Education and The Knowledge Center, Inc. recognized eight Distinguished Educators of Lubbock County and awarded two educators the Lubbock Christian University Award for Excellence in Teaching.

For the 2016-2017 academic year, Stacy Bender and Tim Martin were awarded the honor for excellence in teaching.

Stacy Bender has taught high school science classes in Venus ISD, Salado ISD, Little River ISD, and Troy ISD. Ms. Bender served as a science tutor for home school students before teaching science at Holy Trinity Catholic High School in Temple. Since 2011, she has taught regular and advanced science classes at Abernathy High School.

Tim Martin has taught 6-12 grade math at the Juvenile Justice Alternative Education program in Lubbock before serving as a math teacher at Matthews Alternative High School, O.L. Slaton Middle School, and Dunbar Middle School. Since 2016, Mr. Martin has taught regular and dual-credit math classes at Cooper High School.

“In a world that far too often focuses on the negative, we relish this opportunity to recognize true local heroes in our public schools. The Knowledge Center and the LCU School of Education collaborate to annually honor these nominees for the Lubbock Christian University Excellence in Teaching award,” said Dr. David Boyer, dean of the LCU School of Education.

The superintendents from each school district within Lubbock County were invited to nominate one outstanding teacher to represent their district. The 2018 Distinguished Educators of Lubbock County award nominees were:

  • Jana Abston of Southland ISD,
  • Carolina Alonzo of Lubbock ISD,
  • Stacy Bender* of Abernathy ISD,
  • Whitney Glenn of Slaton ISD,
  • Tim Martin* of Lubbock-Cooper ISD,
  • Sarah Masten of Shallowater ISD
  • Tina Sowder of Frenship ISD, and
  • Brent Wilson of Roosevelt ISD.

Dr. Sam Ayers, distinguished practitioner in residence at the LCU School of Education and the LCU Award for Excellence in Teaching coordinator, said, “It is a privilege to be a part of honoring local teachers and the teaching profession. The educators recognized as 2018 Distinguished Educators of Lubbock County truly represent the best of teaching and learning in classrooms every day.”

The recipients of the Lubbock Christian University Award for Excellence in Teaching were chosen based on a rubric that considered responses addressing lesson planning, student engagement, use of technology, communication with students and parents, professional development, service to the school, and service within the community.

Each nominee received an engraved brass teacher hand bell and $100. Recipients of the Lubbock Christian University Award for Excellence in Teaching also received an award of $1,000.

The LCU Award for Excellence in Teaching was first introduced in 2014 as a means to recognize and honor truly outstanding public school teachers from local school districts.

“We appreciate the heart and dedication of the teachers who truly make a positive difference in Lubbock county. The award is presented annually to remarkable educators as recognition for their diligent efforts in educating future generations and encouragement that their hard work does not go unnoticed,” said Boyer.